BUET Subject List And Faculties

Last Updated on February 3, 2021 by

BUET stands for Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology. BUET is one of the best public universities in Bangladesh. In fact, BUET ranked number #1 among all the universities in Bangladesh. Established in 1912, BUET is one of the most prestigious Engineering institutions for higher studies in Bangladesh. It’s a dream university for Bangladeshi students who want to pursue a career in Engineering, Architecture, planning, and science, etc. Currently, BUET has eighteen teaching departments under five faculties, and it also has six institutions.

BUET Faculties And Departments

BUET provides strong and diverse research and teaching programs through its five faculties. They are:

1. Faculty of Architecture and Planning

2. Faculty of Civil Engineering

3. Faculty of Electrical and Electronic Engineering

4. Faculty of Mechanical Engineering

5. Faculty of Engineering

Faculties of Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical and Electronic Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering extend over four years and lead to B.Sc. Engineering degrees. On the other hand, in the faculty of Architecture and Planning Bachelor of Architecture degree is obtained in five years and the degree of Bachelor of Urban and Regional Planning in four years. Four engineering faculties offer Master of Science in Engineering (M.Sc. Engg.), Master of Engineering (M. Engg.), and Master of Philosophy (M. Phil) degrees. The faculty of Architecture and Planning offers Master in Architecture (M. Arch.) and Master in Urban and Regional Planning (MURP) degrees. All five faculties of BUET offer Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) programs.


The academic departments of BUET offer degree programs in different engineering, architecture, planning, and science disciplines. All the departments have postgraduate programs except for the Dept. of Humanities. On the other hand, departments of Architecture, Urban and Regional Planning, Civil Engineering, Water Resources Engineering, Electrical, and Electronic Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Materials, and Metallurgical Engineering, Petroleum and Mineral Resources Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Naval Architecture, and Marine Engineering, Industrial and Production Engineering offer undergraduate degree programs. BUET has eighteen departments. They are:

1. Department of Chemical Engineering (ChE)

2. Department of Materials and Metallurgical Engineering (MME)

3. Department of Chemistry (Chem)

4. Department of Mathematics (Math)

5. Department of Physics (Phys)

6. Department of Petroleum and Mineral Resources Engineering (PMRE)

7. Department of Glass and Ceramic Engineering (GCE)

8. Department of Mechanical Engineering (ME)

9 Department of Industrial and Production Engineering (IPE)

10. Department of Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering (NAME)

11. Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering (EEE)

12. Department of Computer Science and Engineering (CSE)

13. Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME)

14. Department of Civil Engineering (CE)

15. Department of Water Resources Engineering (WRE)

16. Department of Architecture (Arch)

17. Department of Urban and Regional Planning (URP)

18. Department of Humanities (Hum)                 

BUET also has six institutes. They offer postgraduate diplomas, master’s, and doctoral degrees. The institutes are:

1. Institute of Water and Flood Management (IWFM)

2. Institute of Appropriate Technology (IAT)

3. Institute of Information and Communication Technology (IICT)

4. Accident Research Institute (ARI)

5. BUET-Japan Institute of Disaster Prevention and Urban Safety (BUET-JIDPUS)

6. Institute of Nuclear Power Engineering (INPE)

Subject Wise Seats In BUET

Subject NameSeat Number
Biomedical Engineering30
Chemical Engineering60
Civil Engineering195
Computer Science and Engineering120
Electrical and Electronic Engineering195
Industrial and Production Engineering30
Material and Metallurgical Engineering50
Mechanical Engineering180
Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering55
Urban and Regional Planning30
Water Resources Engineering30