dhaka university admission

Last Updated on February 8, 2020 by Aminul Haque Shahin

Dhaka University, also known as DU, is a non-profit public higher education institution located in the city of Dhaka, Bangladesh. Officially accredited and recognized by the University Grants Commission of Bangladesh, Dhaka University is a large coeducational higher education institution in Bangladesh. DU offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as pre-bachelor degrees like certificates, diplomas, associate or foundation degrees, bachelor degrees, master degrees, doctorate degrees in several areas of study.

History of Dhaka University

Dhaka University is the oldest university in Bangladesh. It was established in 1921 during the British Raj, and since its establishment, it has made significant contributions to the modern history of Bangladesh. During the language movement and liberation war, Dhaka University has played a very important role. At the very beginning, Dhaka University was Dhaka Collage. The then Nawab of Dhaka Sir Khwaja Salimullah donated 600 acres of land from his estate to establish a University in Dhaka. The Dhaka University was finally established in 1921 under the Dacca University Act 1920 of the Indian Legislative Council. The academic activities of this University started on 1 July in 1921, with 847 students along with 3 faculties: Arts, Science, and Law.

Ranking of Dhaka University

Dhaka University is one of the most rebounded universities in Bangladesh and it has been a pioneer in offering higher education in Bangladesh. They maintain a high standard of education and it reflects on their ranking both country and worldwide. 

  • Country Rank: 2nd 
  • World Rank: 2006th

Faculties and Departments of Dhaka University

There are 13 faculties and 83 departments at Dhaka University. The Arts, Science, and Law faculties are the oldest and established in 1921. Here are the details of all the departments:

Faculty of Arts

  • Department of Bangla
  • Department of English
  • Department of Persian Language and Literature
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of History
  • Department of Arabic
  • Department of Islamic Studies
  • Department of Islamic History and Culture
  • Department of Sanskrit
  • Department of Information Science and Library Management
  • Department of Language Science
  • Department of Theater and Music
  • Department of World Religions and Culture
  • Department of Pali and Buddhist Studies
  • Department of Urdu
  • Department of Linguistics

Faculty of Business Studies

  • Department of Management Studies
  • Department of Accounting & Information Systems
  • Department of Marketing
  • Department of Finance
  • Department of Banking and Insurance
  • Department of Management Information Systems
  • Department of International Business
  • Department of Tourism and Hospitality Management
  • Department of Organization Strategy and Leadership

Faculty of Biological Science

  • Department of Soil, Water, and Environment
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Zoology
  • Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Microbiology
  • Department of Fisheries
  • Department of Medical Psychology
  • Department of Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology
  • Department of Educational Psychology

Faculty of Engineering and Technology

  • Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering
  • Department of Applied Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
  • Department of Computer Science & Engineering
  • Department of Nuclear Engineering
  • Department of Robotics and Mechatronics

Faculty of Fine Arts

  • Department of Drawing and Painting
  • Department of Graphic Design
  • Department of Printmaking
  • Department of Oriental Art
  • Department of Ceramics
  • Department of Sculpture
  • Department of Craft
  • Department of History of Art

Faculty of Law

  • Department of Law

Faculty of Medicine

  • Bachelor of Physiotherapy (BPT)
  • Bachelor of Medicine Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS)
  • Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS)

Faculty of Pharmacy

  • Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
  • Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacology
  • Department of Pharmaceutical Technology
  • Department of Pharmacy

Faculty of Science

  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Biomedical Physics and Technology
  • Department of Theoretical Physics
  • Department of Applied Mathematics
  • Department of Statistics
  • Department of Theoretical and Computational Chemistry

Faculty of Social Sciences

  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Health Economics
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of International Relations
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Department of Public Administration
  • Department of Mass Communication and Journalism
  • Department of Communication Disorders
  • Department of Printing and Publication Studies
  • Department of Television, Film, and Photography
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Development Studies
  • Department of Criminology
  • Department of Japanese Studies
  • Department of Women and Gender Studies
  • Department Of Peace and Conflict Studies

Faculty of Earth and Environmental Sciences

  • Department of Geography and Environment
  • Department of Geology
  • Department of Oceanography
  • Department of Disaster Science and Management
  • Department of Meteorology

Faculty of Education

Faculty of Postgraduate Medical Sciences and Research

Dhaka University Admission Circular 2019-20

Dhaka University admission process for honors 1st year, session 2019-2020, will start from 05 August 2019. All eligible candidates can apply for admission and they have to sit for an admission test. However, this year 2nd-time students will not get the opportunity to participate in the Dhaka University Admission Test. Those who will pass the admission test successfully can be able to admit to Dhaka University.

Important Admission Timeline of Dhaka University

  • Online Application Date Initiate: 5th August 2019
  • Online Application Date Finish: 27th August 2019
  • Last date of payment: 28th August 2019
  • Admission Test seized: 13th September 2019
  • Application Link: https://admission.eis.du.ac.bd/

Admission Requirement of Dhaka University 

This year Dhaka University introduces new rules for admission tests. The admission test will include a written exam along the multiple choices Question (MCQ). The students have to take part in 75 marks MCQ test and 45 marks written examination. The students will get 50 minutes for a written test and 40 minutes for the MCQ exam. Here are the Honors admission requirements of Dhaka University:

  • KA Unit: Candidates must have total GPA of 8.00 (with 4th subject) in SSC and HSC level exams
  • KHA Unit: Candidates must have total GPA of 7.00 (with 4th subject) in SSC and HSC level exams
  • GA Unit: Candidates must have total GPA of 7.50 (with 4th subject) in SSC and HSC level exams
  • GHA Unit: Candidates must have total GPA Own Unit GPA in SSC and HSC level exams
  • Cha Unit: Candidates must have total GPA of 6.50 (with 4th subject) in SSC and HSC level exams

Bottom Line

Dhaka University is one of the top-ranking universities in Bangladesh. With top-class facilities, a world-class curriculum, and well-regarded faculty, the university draws in thousands of students every year both national and international.

If you have any questions regarding Dhaka University, then comment below your query. We will reply as soon as possible. Bookmark this page for further use and share this post with your friends & family. Sharing is caring, and this article may also be relevant to them.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *