ugc bangladesh

Last Updated on May 27, 2021 by Aminul Haque Shahin

UGC stands for University Grants Commission. The UGC is the apex body of all the associated public, private, and international universities of Bangladesh. It provides fund for “Government Funded Universities” of Bangladesh. Its mission is to ensure the excellence of higher education all over the country. Private universities must attain approval from UGC before they operate. UGC was intended to maintain the self-directed nature of the universities. The fundamental principle is that the Government should not deal directly with the universities, either individually or cooperatively; instead, it should deal with the UGC, which, in turn, deals directly with the universities.

History of University Grants Commission Bangladesh

The University Grants Commission (UGC) of Bangladesh was established on 16 December 1972. It was created according to the Presidential Order (P.O. No 10 of 1973) of the Government of People’s Republic of Bangladesh. The core mission of UGC is to accomplish excellence in higher education comparable to global standards and establish a mechanism for the students to choose the organization of their choice for excellence in learning, teaching, and research.

Administrative Structure of the University Grants Commission

The University Grants Commission of Bangladesh consists of the following members:

  • Chairman
  • Full-time members: 5 
  • Part-time members: 6 
  • Vice-Chancellors: 2 (by rotation)
  • Professors of Universities: 3 (from the universities Vice-Chancellors of which are not members)
  • Government nominees: 3 (Secretary, Minister of education, a member of the Planning Commission)
  • A representative of the Ministry of Finance: 1 (not below the rank of a secretary)

University Grants Commission Approved Private University List of Bangladesh

According to University Grants Commission of Bangladesh, a total of 103 Private Universities are approved in Bangladesh as of January 2021. They are:

University NameWebsiteEstablished
Ahsanullah University of Science and Technologywww.aust.edu1995
Ahsania Mission University of Science and Technology 2018
American International University-Bangladeshwww.aiub.edu1995
Anwer Khan Modern University 2016
Army University of Engineering and Technology (BAUET)
ASA University
Asian University of
Atish Dipankar University of Science &
Bandarban University 2018
Bangladesh Army International University of Science &
Bangladesh Army University of Science and
Bangladesh Islami
Bangladesh University of Business &
Bangladesh University of Health
BGC Trust University Bangladeshwww.bgctub-edu.net2001
BGMEA University of Fashion & Technology(BUFT)
Britannia University 2012
Canadian University of
CCN University of Science &
Central University of Science and Technology 2016
Central Women’s
Chittagong Independent
Cox’s Bazar International
Daffodil International
Dhaka International Universitywww.diu.ac2000
East Delta
 East West University www.ewubd.edu1996
European University of
Exim Bank Agricultural University,
Fareast International
First Capital University of
German University
Global University
Green University of
Hamdard University
Independent University,
International Islamic University
International Standard University 2018
International University of Business Agriculture & Technologywww.iubat.edu1993
Ishakha International University,
Khulna Khan Bahadur Ahsanullah University 2018
Khwaja Yunus Ali
Manarat International
N.P.I University of
North Bengal International
North East University
North South Universitywww.northsouth.edu1992
North Western
Northern University
Northern University of Business & Technology,
Notre Dame University
Port City International
Pundra University of Science &
Queens University 1996
Rabindra Maitree University, Kushtia 2015
Rajshahi Science & Technology
Ranada Prasad Shaha
Royal University of
Rupayan A.K.M Shamsuzzoha University 2016
Shah Makhdum Management University, Rajshahi 2018
Shanto-Mariam University of Creative
Sheikh Fazilatunnesa Mujib Universitywww.sfmuniversity.org2013
Southern University
Stamford University Bangladesh
State University of
Sylhet International
Tagore University of Creative Arts, 2016
The International University of
The Millennium
The People’s University of
University of Asia Pacificwww.uap-bd.edu1996
The University of Comilla  
Times University,
Trust University 2018
United International
University of Creative Technology, Chittagong 2015
University of Development
University of Global
University of Information Technology &
University of Liberal Arts
University of Science & Technology
University of South Asiawww.southasia-uni.org2003
Victoria University of
World University of
Z.H Sikder University of Science &
Z.N.R.F. University of Management Sciences 2018

Bottom Line

If you have any query regarding the list of approved universities of Bangladesh by University Grants Commission, then comment below your question. We will reply as soon as possible. Bookmark this page for further use and share this post with your friends & family as this article may also be relevant to them.   

Similar Posts

One Comment

  1. i want to do bachelor of business administration in The university of that university approved by UGC? could i go to do my bachelor there??

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *